Skip to content

Healthy for Life

March 27, 2012

I just found out that it’s National Nutrition Month. Let’s look ate what’s on our plates. Why do most Americans eat fast foods? That’s because we’ve been brainwashed to believe that it’s cheaper, easier & faster to get a burger or a meal at Micky D’s or the many other chains that are on every street corner. We also think that bigger’s better, so we buy the extra value meals that are more calories and cause us to gain weight. It’s no surprise that 70% of adults are overweight and obesity is an epidemic. I used to love burgers and fries from fast food places before I became a yoga teacher in late 2007. Yoga changed my diet and my life. I consciously chose to eat at home more often, to cook healthier foods like vegetables and cut out junk foods or sugary snacks. I admit that I have a sweet tooth and allow myself to have a treat like a muffin once a week. Fast foods are not cheap – a frozen pizza, a bag of chips and a box of cookies cost more than a pound of chicken, a head of broccoli and a bag of rice. Did you know that cooking or eating in can save you money? In terms of time, making a salad is quite fast and easy. There are many ways to get your plate in shape. Please share some of your ideas and recipes.

Thanks.

Ingrid Cheng

Writer, Health Advocate

http://fit-twist.blogspot.com
I'm Blogging National Nutrition Month

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

